salotz (Samuel)

I am a PhD student in Biochemistry at Michigan State for the time being, but basically my role is data scientist and software engineer. I am primarily in python because it is easy to get started and the data science libraries and support and adoption in academia/research is huge.

Interested in rebol for a variety of reasons, but primarily interested in solving problems related to what I like to call "exploratory" programming. Structured software engineering is a well covered topic but doesn't really help with what a data scientist does on a daily basis which is trying new things and iteratively building those into a real processing pipeline which may not have a very long lifetime but can still be overburdened with complexity. The intuition for what I mean is anything that you would either write a slew of unportable bash scripts with really long and overly specific names or maybe Jupyter notebooks or Mathematica. In my experience "scripting" (i.e. the UNIX tradition of bash, sed, awk, perl and other treacherous demons) OS facilities like filesystems and process management is the weakest link in the data scientist's toolbox, which has led to solutions like Jupyter and DataBricks. Which are unusable in a number of other ways. The block orientation of rebol IMO is the proper foundation for making this kind of work tractable and maybe even comfortable. My long term goal would be to use rebol as a document container format (replaces e.g. a "notebook" or filesystem "schema") that also allows for creation and orchestration of pipelines of blocks. Sort of like "literate programming" but the literate part is also programmable.

I am going to do a write up with real examples of where I think rebol could help; drawing from my personal emacs org-mode notebooks and project folders I use for doing my PhD work. Let me know if you are interested and it might come sooner.