Pierre (Pierre Chevalier)

I am a French geologist, currently taking a 180 degree sharp curve in my professional life.
After ca. 30 years of practicing geology and mining exploration worldwide, I just went back to university in Bordeaux, to study computer science (https://dept-info.labri.fr/adsillh/ is the cursus I'm attending).

I've been coding with *Basic languages since 1983, with C (occasionally) since 1990, and I saw the Light when I started coding in Rebol 2 around 2001 or 2002. I've been working with plenty of other languages, not worth mentioning.

GNU/Linux user since 1999, exclusive GNU/Linux user since 2005, currently Debian and Devuan are giving life to most of my computers.

My Rebol experience has always been interrupted: I started with great enthusiasm and productivity; then in 2007 I wanted to subcontract the development of a tool for geologists and I wished it would be developed in Rebol: but the subcontractor didn't want, because Rebol wasn't open source software... so they (and I) switched to python for a while. Then on 12/12/12, full of Hope, I started Rebolling again intensively, putting much hope on the Red adventure. Today, whenever I have some quick code to do, Rebol2 comes as THE solution.

Most of what I (quite messily) coded is on my github:

I feel like a perpetual Rebol beginner...

3 Likes

So the good news is that you have a long attention span. :slight_smile: I've bumped you to "regular" status, so you can write about semi-off-topic things in Lounge if you like...which will be the replacement for chat.