Why No-Argument Refinements Are BLACKHOLE! or NULL

In Rebol2, a refinement's value would be #[true] or #[none]:

rebol2>> show-me: func [/bar] [print mold bar]

rebol2>> show-me/bar
true  ; actually LOGIC! #[true], not the WORD! true

rebol2>> foo
none  ; actually a NONE! value, not the WORD! none

As a newbie, I was bothered by this from the get-go... because I couldn't test refinements with AND/OR. (they don't take #[none]) I hadn't drank the Kool-Aid that ANY/ALL were always a desirable substitute.

NOTE: I never drank the ANY/ALL supremacy Kool-Aid. Of course there are a lot of cool uses for them as larger scale control structures--and it's important to know how to use them for streamlining program flow. But for testing flags? The ability to do it infix and without delimiters can read much better in many places.

So Ren-C has adopted infix AND/OR that operate conditionally on ANY-VALUE! and return LOGIC! (they also short-circuit)

ren-c>> flag1: flag2: true

ren-c>> if flag1 and flag2 [print "It allows WORD!s, this comes up often"]
It allows WORD!s, this comes up often

ren-c>> if all [flag1 flag2] [print "Not everyone loves this (e.g. not me)"]
Not everyone loves this (e.g. not me)

ren-c>> if (block? flag1) and (empty? flag1) [print "Short-circuit avoids error"]
; to do this, the second argument to AND/OR is quoted behind the scenes 

There were countless debates over whether refinements should just be LOGIC! (as in Red), or if a used refinement should be the WORD! of the refinement (maybe useful for chaining?). For a time, it seemed murkier when Ren-C introduced NULL...although it all tied up rather nicely in the end!

But, 2022 UPDATE: I've cleaned up a bunch of historical rambling of me talking to myself in this thread to pare it down to what's useful.

Evolution Led Ren-C to Refinements As Their Own Arguments