Understanding Definitional Scoping

I just started learning Red/Rebol, and I was having trouble understanding the scoping rules. I did read the Stack Overflow and Bindology, and I think I somewhat understand, but I'm not sure! I'd be grateful if someone can confirm the my deductions about the following code from the SE post:

rebol []

a: 1

func-1: func [] [a]

inner: context [
    a: 2
    func-2: func [] [a]
    func-3: func [/local a] [a: 3 func-1]
]

reduce [func-1 inner/func-2 inner/func-3]
  1. Compile-time: First, when the code is compiled, a list of top-level names is created. (a, func-1, inner)
  2. Load-time: When the code is loaded, context A is created with those symbols as members. Also, the entire code is walked through, and every occurrence of those symbols is bound to these entries. (e.g., a inside func-2 would be bound to the top-level a)
  3. Run-time: When a: 1 is executed, the value 1 is stored in the a's slot in the context.
  4. The func keyword after func-1: creates a new function, and assigns it to func-1. However, it leaves the binding of a intact.
  5. The context keyword after inner: creates a new context B, walks over all the block, collecting all new symbols, and inserts those in the new object.
  6. a: 2 assigns value 2 in a's slot in the new context.
  7. func after func-2: creates a function while keeping a's new binding intact, and assigns it to func-2's slot.
  8. func after func-3: creates a function and creates a new context C in which a is inserted and bound.
  9. Upon execution of reduce, func-1 returns 1 from context A, func-2 return 2 from context B, and func-3 executes func-1 which returns 1 from context A again.

So, now, a few questions:

• Is the above correct? If it is,
  • How does the context keyword determine which set-words it should create a slot for? i.e.,
    • if a: 2 didn't exist, will it still create the slot for a due to a: 3 deep inside?