Embedding ren-c into c program - for newbs

I am not experienced in c ... I know or knew the language but compiling, linking, makefiles ... :frowning:

Is there any "getting started" page for this sort of thing? I feel really dumb by not knowing this stuff. So far I have downloaded ren-c source and compiled it. Made a simple c file, included the header ... but I guess I need the library now. Which I don't know if is already built by make (and I can't find it), or do I have to call make specifically to build it, or this should all be done in different way altogether.

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
#include <endian.h>
#include <reb-host.h>

int main()
{
  printf("Hello World!!\n");
  char *output = rebDo("1 + 1");
  int result = atoi(output); // "ascii to integer"                                                                                                                                                                                                                     
  printf("The result of the addition was %d\n", result);
  free(output);
  return 0;
}

I call and get

gcc -I /home/jimny/Work/ren-c-master/src/include/ main.c -o test2
/tmp/ccDfnqns.o: In function `main':
main.c:(.text+0x1d): undefined reference to `RL_rebDo'

Which means (if I understand) that it finds the header, but not the library / code?

Oh no. It's...a person. Asking... questions... :-/

You're very much on the right track, I'm just not ready for you yet!

The first design of the API was C++ based, you can see a bit here:

What has happened is a bit of redesign, to try and back off C++ and really start doing weird-o things, like sniff the bytes:

So basically being able to read rebDo("1", rebEval(plusFunction), "1", END), if you will. No C++ just differentiating UTF-8 data from various other bit patterns.

You're just too early! :slight_smile: I'm making this stuff up as I go along.

Please join us in chat. https://chat.stackoverflow.com/rooms/291/rebol